Skip to content

Thoughts for the upcoming year.

12/25/2010

Well, now that the busy season is over at work, I have been thinking about some of the things I want to try and accomplish.

More Flames of War… Alex and I have been playing more and more lately and I really think it is my favorite set of miniatures rules that I have tried.  I want to build upon the Canadian infantry that I have and build an Armored company.  I’ve been using some of Alex’s minis lately, and I am thinking within a game or two I am really going to figure them out.

I have a free set of rules called Sturmovik Commander – a ww2 air to air combat game – http://www.sturmovik-commander.com/ I want to seriously consider trying to run a game of it at Havoc or Huzzah, I have some minis – Why not?  The scenario will revolve around a bunch of rookies learning to fly their new planes.  They will be put through a series of ‘drills’ as they follow their captains lead from simple turning, climbing and diving, to shooting at stationary targets.  As they finish their training… what’s that on the horizon?

I have also been looking at different rule sets for a skirmish level / platoon or squad level ww2 game at 1/72 scale.  Several systems – some free, some not so free, have crossed my eyes and I think I have figured out what set to use.  Flames of War.  Yup, I think with a few minor modifications it should work good.  SO some play testing there is going to need to be needed.

I also think I want to seriously consider Infinity and/ or Dystopian Wars as well but – I want to see how they take off  first.

Infinity is a sci fi skirmish game that I’ve been looking at for a long time.  The demo game was a lot of fun despite only making three successful rolls throughout.  I like the models, its a low count game, the ARO mechanic for interrupting another players turn (for overwatch fire,) is nice.  A downside to the game is that a lot of scenery is required I think to really play it well.

Dystopian Wars is Spartan Games new ‘Global Warfare in a Victorian Sci Fi age’.  It covers land, sea and air.  Right now the ‘land’ portion is not released yet and I think I will wait to see it before anything.  Spartan also makes Uncharted Seas and Firestorm Armada.

Well, that’s all for now – I hope everyone has a wonderful holiday.

– Dan

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Brian Aherne permalink
    01/03/2011 9:34 pm

    I was gonna wait for land units for Dystopian wars as well but they pushed them back to the spring so I am getting a demo tomorrow. Leaning towards the Brits

    • dan1066 permalink*
      01/04/2011 9:01 am

      I don’t think I will be there today but I should defiantly try a demo too. I can’t remember if I liked Uncharted Seas, I only got to play it once or twice I think and I know they are on a new rules set. Perhaps by the time the other factions arrive we’ll have a good idea of how popular the game will be.

Leave a Reply

